Getting arrested for driving under the influence can be extremely frightening. Being questioned by the police and ushered into a jail cell to spend the night can feel surreal – especially if it is your first time getting in trouble with the law. Not knowing what is going to happen next may leave you with a sick feeling in the pit of your stomach.
Unfortunately, in most cases, this worry is justified. After all, penalties for DUIs in the state of Florida are stiff. Because the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit in the state is so low, it is extremely easy to exceed it. Even something as simple as having a couple of glasses of wine with dinner can put you above the limit, making it easy to inadvertently break the law.
Fines for a first offense in Florida can be as high as $2,000, depending on how high your blood alcohol content was and whether or not there were any minors in the car with you when you were pulled over. Typically, you will also have to do community service and may even face prison time. Along with that, your car will most likely be impounded.
In addition, even if it is your first DUI, you will still lose your license for a minimum of 180 days. This can make it extremely difficult to get to work, to buy groceries, or to perform other everyday tasks.
The best way to minimize the impact of getting a DUI is by working with a Fort Lauderdale DUI Lawyers. These attorneys are familiar with DUI laws in Florida and can provide expert advice and guidance. They may be able to help get the charges against you reduced – particularly if it is your first offense or if the circumstances surrounding the initial stop were questionable.
In some instances, they may even be able to get your entire case thrown out. There is a legal term known as the fruit of the poisonous tree. In essence, what this means is that any evidence that results from an illegal stop is not admissible in court.
A top dui lawyers ft lauderdale can determine whether or not the officer who stopped you followed the law. If they didn’t have a solid legal reason for stopping you, any evidence they gathered after they pulled you over can’t be used against you in court. This includes breathalyzer readings, the results of a field sobriety test, or any physical evidence that they found in your vehicle.
Your attorney can also advise you on the requirements of your sentence. For instance, you may be required to attend drug and alcohol counseling or to perform community service. Your lawyer can make sure that you understand each of the requirements so that you don’t inadvertently violate your probation.